World Lupus Day

10 May

Fourteen years ago the 10th May didn’t mean much. Fourteen years ago the 10th May passed me by in a haze of painkillers and high temperatures.

The 10th May is World Lupus Day. Fourteen years ago I was just starting my life with Lupus.

I’ve been very lucky to have been able to build up my own Lupus support network over the years. Other people with Lupus, from all around the world, who I can turn to with questions or rant at when things aren’t quite going to plan. Events like World Lupus Day bring us together.

I am incredibly proud to be part of The Hibbs Lupus Trust. Not only have they helped me through some tough times but I see the impact their work has on raising Lupus awareness every day.

It’s in the tweets from newly-diagnosed patients who are just grateful to have found somewhere they feel they fit in. It’s in the fundraisers doing wonderful things in support, and in memory, of loved ones. And it’s in the reactions of people I meet, who now don’t always look as confused when I say ‘I have Lupus’.

World Lupus Day is about bringing people together, but it’s more than that. It’s about giving us the chance to promote a condition that is so often misunderstood. It’s about raising awareness. Not just today, but everyday.

And, one day, it will all come together.

20140509-202640.jpg

Leave a Reply

